On reading and writing

The month of June is back-to-school time. I graduated many years ago but I still remember the excitement, the joy, and the fear of returning to school from a blissful two-month summer vacation.

While I enjoyed vacations, I was also a geeky child who loved school. I loved books and reading so much that by May (when my parents have bought all the required books and school supplies), I have read most of my textbooks. Before classes open in June, I have more or less browsed through my English, Filipino, and Science books. As if that wasn’t enough, I also read my older brother’s books. Yes, crucify me, they were textbooks too.

How could I have enjoyed reading those textbooks? Well, since childhood, reading has always been the most natural activity in the world for me. The school books were read on top of the storybooks I also had as a child. I enjoyed reading about biology and astronomy, but I also found pleasure in reading short stories and poems.

It was tragic that no library was within a 10-mile radius from where we used to live. So I did the next best thing – I pestered my parents into giving me books. For many Christmases, I even asked Santa Claus not for fancy toys, but books.

I think my love for reading eventually translated into a love for writing. As I read, I was thinking “What if (this) happened instead?” … “I have a better ending.” … “The main character could have said (this).”… “Hey, this rhyming thing is great.” “I think I can write something like this too.” …and a billion other things.

By the third grade, I was writing mini essays.

Writer Stephen King says it very well:

“If you want to be a writer, you must do two things above all others: read a lot and write a lot.”

 

If you visited this site because you wanted to learn how to write a memo, click on:  How to write a memo (literally)

 

Comment on this post

