Writing Tip: Try not to edit while creating

Try not to edit while you’re creating your first draft. Creating and editing are two separate processes using different sides of the brain, and if you try doing both at once you’ll lose. Make a deal with your internal editor that it will get the chance to rip your piece to shreds; it will just need to wait some time. A really nice trick is to switch off your monitor when you’re typing. You can’t edit what you can’t see.

(From Bill Harper @ Daily Writing Tips)

2 comments

  1. dante668

    This is especially hard for me. I’ll open up something I have in progress and scroll through it to get to the entry point and I’ll see things that need fixing. By the time I’m done fixing, the ideas that I had for writing have scurried off to a distant corner of my mind. I’m trying really hard lately to just get the whole story out before I go back and fix things.

    • Jennifaye

      It’s kinda like freewriting…just letting the ideas flow. This is useful for creative writing. When I do corporate writing, it’s a different story.🙂

Comment on this post

