Time for time-out

Beach Umbrella

 

 

 

 

In writing, as it is in life…

“Mistakes are the portals of discovery.” (James Joyce)

Paraphrasing that, to err is to discover. And oh wow, there’s so much I have “discovered” in the past few months in my professional and personal life. Everything’s not peachy, but hey, definitely not everything’s shitty either. I’m just going through these portals and trying to learn as much as I can.

It’s the first day of March (a Friday payday, woo hoo!) as I’m writing this at home. The previous blog post was written five months ago, that’s how long I already stopped blogging. I was just so immersed in my work– basking in the pressure, reveling in the deadlines, most of which I couldn’t keep. There was just too much to do and too much to handle. And I was enjoying every minute of it.

I’m lounging around on the first day of my mini four-day vacation leave. This is one of those vacations where as I’m blogging, I can hear the TV blaring and my mother going on about that medical check-up I have to schedule. My e-mail is open waiting for work-related stuff to come in. My BlackBerry is charging, waiting for more work-related stuff to pour in. A newsletter draft gasps for air; it’s pleading for my help and it’s already bloody red from all the corrections. My niece comes up to me, asking me to read the new “Where is Maisy?” book I just gave her. (I happily oblige.)

No musings on a deserted beach. No soft breeze from the sea. No strawberry daiquiri or pina colada with the mini umbrella.

I am exactly where I am supposed to be, about to enter another portal of discovery.

Comment on this post

