December: A month without too much “stuff”

(Part of A Year of Living Without)

The Challenge: Mindfully staying away from excess, and putting a stop to hoarding stuff  bought from malls

Planned replacement habits: Recycle. Reuse. Reduce waste. Ask myself if I *really* need something before buying it. Raid my closet and dispose/give away unused things first before acquiring anything new.

image

Shirts galore

Month-end Report: For my Christmas gift-wrapping tasks, I recycled used board papers into gift cards and fashioned old calendars into wrapping papers and gift bags.

image

Before: the wall calendar

image

After: the gift bag

image

Colorful calendars as wrapping paper for gifts

I’m also cleaning out my closet. In fact, I already gave away old clothes and started redesigning some of the t-shirts that I kept. A lovely DIY blog called Wobisobi inspired me to cut up my shirts.

Aaaaand it’s a wrap! That was a year of living without. Thanks to Leo Babauta of Zen Habits for the inspiration.

It’s empowering to find out what’s really necessary so I can simplify my life and give up some things that might be taking up space, weighing me down or making me unhealthy in some way physically, emotionally, or mentally. I learned that living without some things may mean making room for some better things, so I’m all for it.

Cheers to 2014, and the awesome year to come! Hello and welcome to my life, 2015!

Posted from WordPress for Android

One comment

Comment on this post

